Michael Rault joins the family and announces new album; shares first single

By March 7, 2018 No Comments

Singer-songwriter Michael Rault has announced his new album It’s A New Day Tonight out May 18th on Sleepless Records in Canada and Wick/Daptone for the rest of the world. Head to Noisey to hear the new song and video for album opener “I’ll Be There”. The new album has its home in the darkness, many of its songs looking at nocturnal activities, particularly sleep. “Sleeping and dreaming were attractive concepts,” says Rault. “I was looking for an escape from a lot of frustrating and dissatisfying conditions in my day-to-day life.”
It’s A New Day Tonight has the loose-limbed feel of a lost album by ’70s bands that bridged the gap between folk rock’s open-hearted strumming and power pop’s crisp, melody-forward confections—Wings, Badfinger, Big Star, 10cc—yet possesses an energy shot through with 21st-century optimism. That vibe was assisted by the live-to-tape recording setup at Daptone. “The editing and patching together of tracks on the album was minimal compared to modern standards, which forced me to get more used to having to perform each song all the way through in the studio and then live with the imperfections afterwards,” says Rault.
The album’s title (and title track) comes from the most Canadian of overheard sources: a pregame interview with a hockey player coming off a rocky night. “He said, ‘It’s a new day tonight, we’ve got to put the past behind us.’ At first, I thought it was an awkward phrase,” says Rault. “But I quickly thought: ‘Awkward turn of phrase… or a good album title?’ [The title track] is almost completely describing a very positive nightlife experience, but the opening line implies that this evening is coming as a major relief after spending the majority of the day depressed.” 

Michael Rault Tour Dates

Wed. Mar. 14 – Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas (Desert Daze Party) – 2:45PM – SXSW
Wed. Mar. 14 – Austin, TX @ Panache Bruise Cruise #3 – 6:00PM – SXSW
Fri. Mar. 16 – Austin, TX @ St. Elmo’s Fire – 2:15PM – SXSW
Fri. Mar. 16 – Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas (Panache Showcase) – 9:30PM – SXSW
Sat. Mar 17 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda (Do512 The Big One) – 3:00PM – SXSW
Sat. Mar. 17 – Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas (Burgermania VII) – 6:45PM – SXSW
Tue. May 22 – Toronto, ON @ The Horseshoe
Wed. May 23 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
Fri. May 25 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement
Sat. May 26 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Mon. May 28 – Raleigh, NC @ Neptunes
Tue. May 29 – Washington, DC @ DC 9
Wed. May 30 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Thu. May 31 – Brooklyn, NY @ Our Wicked Lady Rooftop
Fri. June 1 – Boston, MA @ Once Ballroom @ Lounge
Sat. June 2 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz